Skip to content
October 24, 2011 / thisismywindow

Kitchen Window

I love to cook. It’s harder to do now that I have a toddler running through the kitchen than back in our just-me-and-hubby days, but I still love it.
Last night I was craving Mexican food. Normally, I’d go the easy route with a taco dinner, but we didn’t have any taco shells. So, I went to my favorite recipe friend, google, to see what I could find.

My search came up with this blog (thank you so much for your yummy recipe!) http://karistaskitchen.com/2011/04/01/mexican-stuffed-bell-peppers/

but then I tweaked it a little. Use what you have is a motto I’ve heard a lot, so I went with what I had. I don’t have pictures along the way, because I didn’t know I’d be blogging this. But, it was so good, I had to share. I have one pic that I tweeted just before eating the second one

Mexican Style Stuffed Peppers
4-6 bell peppers (red, yellow, orange or green)
1tblsp olive oil
1 cup diced white onion
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb ground beef (or chicken or turkey if you prefer)
1 pkg Old El Paso Taco Seasoning (I prefer the low sodium one)
1/2 cup warm water
1 cup cooked brown rice
1/2 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup taco cheese (I buy the Giant Eagle brand, but whatever you have)
1/2 cup your favorite salsa

Preheat oven to 350
Cut the tops off the peppers, then clean out the insides. Save the tops, and dice the good part of the peppers. I also cut the bottoms a little so that they stand evenly in the pan. Place in a pan in the oven. You want them to cook for about 20 mins, or until soft but still firm so that you can fill them.
Meanwhile, heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onions and cook about 5 mins, or until translucent. Add garlic and cook a few minutes more. Add the diced peppers from the tops. Cook just until slightly tender.
Add ground meat and cook thoroughly, stirring as you go. At this point, I drained some of the liquid, but I wasn’t as particular as if I were making tacos.
Combine the taco seasoning and water prior to adding to the meat mixture. Stir well. Allow this to cook a few minutes, then add the rice and beans, stirring well. Once everything is covered, add most of the cheese. Want more cheese? Add it. 1/2 cup is just an estimate.
Then add the salsa, and give it all a good stir again.
Now you’re ready to stuff the peppers. Take them out of the oven. They should be slightly firm. Fill each one with the meat, bean and rice mixture. Add a sprinkling of cheese on the top.
Bake for an additional 15 or 20 minutes.

I added Cholula on the top once they were done, but I add that to everything. They really didn’t need it.

These were so good, I had one that was leftover for Friday’s lunch, and then another for Sunday’s. Loved it.

I’m not a cook, and have never written a recipe, so if you see something that seems incorrect, please let me know. Also, please let me know if you make these!
 



Leave a comment