Skip to content
January 27, 2015 / thisismywindow

Sweaty Windows

Do you exercise? Regularly? I really feel better the days I get some form of exercise, but am not so good at doing it on the regular. I usually get started, go for a few weeks, and then something happens that gets me off course. I really like to find something that makes me feel good, both inside and out. Exercise is just as important to beauty as drinking water and wearing makeup. (well, I like the makeup part, anyway)

I found this on webmd:

“We tend to focus on the cardiovascular benefits of physical activity, and those are important. But anything that promotes healthy circulation also helps keep your skin healthy and vibrant,” says dermatologist Ellen Marmur, MD, author of Simple Skin Beauty: Every Woman’s Guide to a Lifetime of Healthy, Gorgeous Skin and associate professor of dermatology at Mount Sinai School of Medicine. 

For nearly a yoga, I was great at doing yoga. I have two from Bethenny Frankel – Body by Bethenny and SkinnyGirl Workout. I do them both on my iPad through Amazon Unbox. When I was working full-time, it was the perfect lunchtime workout. I didn’t get sweaty enough to require a shower, but I did get a good stretch and muscle burn.

Now that I have been home, I’ve done a few things. One was nothing. And I gained 20 pounds. Yea, that didn’t go so well. Then I tried taking the dog for long walks. I loved that. We got up to 4 miles a few times a week. Then it got cold. And it snowed. So, yea, again, that didn’t go so well. So, I started fresh for the new year. I downloaded an app for the iPad called DailyBurn. It’s free for the first 30 days, then $13 per month. You get unlimited daily workouts, and there’s a great variety. So far, I really like it. I’ve done CardioBurn, which was tough, but not too tough. Then, I tried TBT – I really like it. Their description says, “workouts in TBT are dynamic and movement-based, designed for metabolic conditioning.”

In between, I also found a fantastic workout on Amazon Unbox called The Biggest Loser Power Walk. It’s 4 segments of walking, each roughly equal to a one-mile walk. It’s so good for those days I feel like sitting on the couch because it’s snowing or raining or whatever. It makes me get up and walk.

That’s what I have been doing since the beginning of January. Let’s hope it continues throughout the year!

Leave a comment