Skip to content
May 22, 2015 / thisismywindow

Not-so-smelly Windows

I was reading a while ago about commercial antiperspirants and deodorants, and how they could be part of the reason for an increase in cancers of all forms. So, I tried several on the market “natural” deodorants, and decided that if I wanted to keep being social, I’d have to find a better way. Some left me just stinky, others worked for about an hour, then quit, and one gave me a horrible rash.

Using my friend Pinterest, I found a few recipes for homemade deodorants, and have found this one to be the best for me.

It is all natural, paraben-free, aluminum-free, and cheap. Well, that part is just a nice side benefit.

I made a batch the other morning, and documented my steps for you. Yes, you are totally welcome for the iPhone pics. I am sans camera for a while, so that’s what you’re getting.

  1. Heat some water in a pan, about 3 inches deep, depending on your sauce pan. Make a double boiler by adding a glass jar. I have found that a mason jar works best.
  2.  Get ingredients ready:

    IngredientsForDeodorant

    Coconut oil, Essential Oils, Shea Butter, Corn Starch, Baking Soda

  3. Add 3 tablespoons of the Coconut Oil, and 3 tablespoons of the Shea Butter to the jar. Allow these to melt.
    IMG_7225
  4. Once they have melted, stir thoroughly and turn off heat.
  5. Add 3 tablespoons baking soda and 2 tablespoons corn starch and stir well. Carefully remove from water.
    The glass jar may be hot.

    image1.

  6. Add between 5 and 10 drops of your favorite essential oils to the mix. I prefer Young Living brand, and I love just about anything with a lavender scent.
  7. image3https://www.youngliving.com/en_US/products/essential-oils/singles/lavender-essential-oil
  8. Allow mixture to cool entirely before using. I like to put it in the fridge for about an hour.

    image4

    Transferred to a prettier jar for my dressing table, and poured some into a small container for when I travel.

You can store this in your bathroom, but it may be “melty” in the summer months, especially if you don’t have central air. We don’t, and so occasionally, I have to stick in back in the fridge to re-solidify.

Also, I have found that I used to get a rash under my pits when I used this for the first few days. I discovered that if I shave my pits at night, and apply the deodorant in the morning, I don’t have a rash.

Are you making your own products? Let me know your favorite in the comments.

Leave a comment